HOME > Newsroom > Press Releases > 

Sudan, New Convention President


The Convention's President, Ambassador Osman Abufatima Adam Mohammed, Deputy Permanent Representative of the Sudan to the UN in Geneva, held a meet-and-greet with the Coordinate Committee on 18 December.

Sudan leads the first year of implementation of the recently-adopted Oslo Action Plan, and the work of the Convention in 2020 culminating with the Eighteenth Meeting of the States Parties (18MSP), taking place in November in Geneva. The Coordinating Committee will meet again on 31 January in a full day retreat to discuss their work in 2020.

Ambassador Osman Abufatima Adam Mohammed
Deputy Permanent Representative of the Sudan to the UN in Geneva

Following the Review Conference, Sudan held a meet-and-greet with the Coordinating Committee. 2020 Members include the,

Committee on Article 5 Implementation (Canada, Austria, Norway, Zambia),

Committee on Cooperative Compliance (Sudan, Iraq, Switzerland, Poland, Panama),

Committee on Victim Assistance (Italy, Chile, Sweden, Thailand), and

Committee on the Enhancement of Cooperation and Assistance (Turkey, United Kingdom, Colombia, Germany),

President-Designate (Netherlands), and Sponsorship Programme Coordinator (Australia) as Observers.

Other Observers include the

United Nations Office for Disarmament (UNODA),

the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC),

the International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL),

the Geneva International Centre for Humanitarian Demining (GICHD).

Find out more about the Committees and their work here.

Photo below, Coordinating Committee.


 For more information, isu(at)apminebanconvention.org