A total of nine States Parties have never reported consuming any mines for permitted purposes since the treaty entered into force for them:

```
Bangladesh (12,500) *
Belarus (6,030) *
Bhutan (4,491)
Cape Verde (120) *
Djibouti (2,996) *
Ethiopia (303)
Nigeria (3,364) *
Senegal (37)
Togo (436) *
```

 Other States Parties that have not reported the consumption of retained mines since 2009, or earlier:

```
Algeria (5,970)
                     [2009]
Bulgaria (3,672)*
                   [2007]
Colombia (586)
                     [2006]
Rep. of Congo (322) [2008]
El Salvador (72)*
                     [2007]
- Greece (6,158)
                     [2009]
Indonesia (2,454)*
                     [2009]
Kenya (1,020)*
                     [2007]
Mauritania (728)
                     [2003]
Namibia (1,634)*
                     [2009]

    Nicaragua (934)*

                     [2009]
Peru (2,040)
                     [2009]
Romania (2,500)*
                     [2003]
- Serbia (3,159)
                     [2009]
Slovenia (2,991)*
                     [2008]
Tanzania (1,780)*
                     [2007]
Turkey (15,100)
                     [2009]
Uganda (1,764)
                     [2003]
Zambia (2,120)*
                     [2007]
```

\* Indicates that the state is NOT known to be mine affected

[Year of last declared reduction in number is listed in brackets]

32 States Parties that previously declared retaining mines have not yet submitted transparency reports for 2011, which were due to the depositary by 30 April 2011.

Nicaragua\* Djibouti\* Afghanistan Peru DR Congo Bangladesh\* Romania\* El Salvador\* Benin\* Rwanda\* Ethiopia Bhutan Serbia Guinea Bissau Brazil\* Slovakia\* Honduras\* Slovenia\* Indonesia\* Bosnia and Herzegovina South Africa\* Ireland\* Cape Verde\* Kenya\* Tanzania\* Republic of Congo Togo\* Mali\* Cyprus Tunisia\* Namibia\* Uruguay\*

<sup>\*</sup> Indicates that the state is NOT known to be mine affected

- The level of detail of reporting on the intended purposes and actual uses of retained mines has fallen.
  - For transparency reports for calendar year 2011, only Argentina,
     Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Ecuador, and Germany
     provided detailed and extensive information about the programs and
     requirements that the antipersonnel mines are intended to fulfill.
  - Others, such as France, Sweden, Turkey, and the United Kingdom provided considerably less detail.
  - The vast majority however, provided no voluntary information in the amended forms about the intended purposes and actual uses of retained mines.

- States that reduced the number of mines retained without explanation for calendar year 2011:
  - Czech Republic (30 fewer mines)
  - Netherlands (191 fewer mines)
  - Spain (9 fewer mines)
  - United Kingdom (362 fewer mines)
  - Each of these States Parties also reduced the number of mines retained without explanation in 2010, so this appears to be a recurring practice.
- Zimbabwe also reported possessing 50 fewer retained mines in 2011.
- Conversely, Cambodia reported an increase of 273 mines retained, but did not offer any explanation for this change.

## 26 States Parties that once stockpiled antipersonnel mines but chose not to retain mines for research or training purposes:

 Albania, Austria, Cameroon, Chad, Gabon, Guinea, Hungary, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia FYR, Malaysia, Mauritius, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Suriname, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Ukraine.