ICBL Statement on Stockpile Destruction 18MSP Mine Ban Treaty, 16-20 November 2020



At least 160 of the 164 States Parties to the Mine Ban Treaty do not stockpile antipersonnel mines. This includes 93 states that have officially declared completion of stockpile destruction and 67 states that have declared they never possessed antipersonnel mines, except in some cases for training in detection and clearance techniques.

Collectively, States Parties have destroyed more than 55 million stockpiled antipersonnel mines, including more than 300,000 destroyed in 2019 by Greece, Sri Lanka, and Ukraine.

Three States Parties possess a collective total of almost four million antipersonnel mines left to destroy: Ukraine (3.3 million), Greece (343,413), and Sri Lanka (32,831).

Sri Lanka declared a stockpile of 134,898 antipersonnel mines in November 2018 when it submitted its initial Article 7 transparency report. The deadline for completion of destruction is 1 June 2022 and reported that the destruction of 29,679 antipersonnel mines in 2019 and through July 2020.

Greece and Ukraine remain in violation of Article 4 after failing to complete the destruction of their stockpiles by their four-year deadline. Neither state has indicated when they will fulfill this obligation. The Oslo Action Plan adopted at the Fourth Review Conference urges states that have failed to meet their stockpile destruction deadlines to "present a time-bound plan for completion and urgently proceed with implementation as soon as possible in a transparent manner."

Finally, State Party Tuvalu must provide an initial Article 7 transparency report for the treaty, to formally confirm that it does not possess stockpiled antipersonnel mines.

-

¹ Greece had a deadline for stockpile destruction of 1 March 2008, while Ukraine had a deadline of 1 June 2010.