

Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention Fifth Review Conference Siem Reap, 29 November 2024

EU closing remarks

Mr. President,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union and its Member States.

The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Republic of Moldova and Bosnia and Herzegovina¹ as well as the EFTA country Iceland, member of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this statement.

Mr. President,

Allow me to congratulate you and your team on the successful conclusion of the Siem Reap-Angkor Summit on a Mine-Free World. We thank Cambodia and the Cambodian people for your warm hospitality, as well for the enormous efforts you have put into organizing this Summit and the able steering of the deliberations and negotiations of the final documents.

The European Union (EU) welcomes the adoption of the outcome documents and successful conclusion of this Review Conference. With this Political Declaration we renew our collective commitment to uphold and strengthen the norms established by the Convention and to advance global efforts towards a world free of anti-personnel landmines, which we strongly support. Equally, we welcome the adoption of the robust Siem Reap-Angkor Action Plan which will excellently guide our work over the next five years. This Action Plan addresses all aspects of the implementation of the Convention and introduces the integration of several new considerations such as climate and environment or intensified efforts to achieve progress through renewed machinery. The EU is committed to politically and financially support the universalisation, mine clearance, assisting mine victims and risk education in line with the new actions contained in the Siem Reap-Angkor Action Plan.

Mr. President,

The EU reiterates that any use of anti-personnel mines anywhere, anytime, and by any actor is completely unacceptable. We are committed to mine action and will support our partners in achieving our common goal of a mine-free world.

I thank you, Mr. President

¹ North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.