HOME > Newsroom > Press Release Archives > Archives 2017 > 

Commemorating the 20th anniversary of the Mine Ban Convention in Geneva


20 Years of Partnership 
for a Mine-Free World

Events commemorating the 20th anniversary of the Convention in Geneva

Take a look: Until 3 December 2017, the Convention's flags will fly high over the Montblanc Bridge in commemoration of the 20 years since the signing of the Convention.

Then, join us on 1 December for a panel discussion from 12:00-14:00 at the Permanent Mission of Canada, Avenue de l'Ariana 5.

H.E. Rosemary McCarney, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations in Geneva; H.E. Thomas Hajnoczi, Ambassador of Austria and President of the Sixteenth Meeting of the States Parties, and H.E. Peter Sørensen, Ambassador of the European Union to the United Nations in Geneva will deliver opening remarks.

Cornelio Sommaruga, former President of the International Committee of the Red Cross; Facundo Chavez Penillas, of the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights; Amélie Chayer, Acting Director, of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines, Chris Loughran, Director of Policy & Advocacy, of the Mines Advisory Group, Samer Bedrud, Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Afghanistan, and Tammy Hall, Head, Strategies and Standards, Geneva International Centre for Humanitarian Demining, will join the President of the Convention in an informal conversation on the future of the treaty. 

Please RSVP here.

Photo exhibit on 4 December at Place des Nations

The Convention's Implementation Support Unit, Handicap International and the Geneva Centre for Humanitarian Demining invite you to the opening reception of the photo exhibit commemorating the 20 years of the Convention, on 4 December at 13:00, at the Broken Chair at Place des Nations.

Please join the Convention's President, H.E. Thomas Hajnoczi, Ambassador of Austria to the UN in Geneva, H.E. Rosemary McCarney Ambassador of Canada to the UN in Geneva, and former ICRC President Cornelio Sommaruga during this emblematic event.

Please RSVP: communications(at)gichd.org. 
The commemoration of the 20 years since the signing of Convention will continue at the Sixteenth Meeting of the States Parties (16MSP) in Vienna.

A high-level segment will include the participation of the Convention's Special Envoys HRH Princess Astrid of Belgium and HRH Prince Mired of Jordan. It will also feature the participation of the 1997 Nobel Peace Co-Laureates Jody Williams and Tun Channareth, and many other key figures of the Ottawa Process.
Find all the information of the 16MSP here!
Contact the Convention's Implementation Support Unit for more information: isu(at)apminebanconvention.org.