States have joined the Convention

Meet the States Parties family

States Parties include,

  • Most of the States that at one time used, stockpiled, produced or transferred anti-personnel mines.
  • The majority of States that are or have been affected by anti-personnel mines.
  • Every state in the Americas except Cuba and the United States.
  • Every state in Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • The use of anti-personnel mines has decreased dramatically through adherence to the Convention and the widespread acceptance of its provisions by States not party.
  • The production of anti-personnel mines has decreased significantly: Of the 50 States that at one time produced anti-personnel mines, 34 are now bound by the Convention.
  • It should be noted that “the Articles of this Convention shall not be subject to reservations.”
  • Combined, six States – China, India, the Republic of Korea, Pakistan, Russia and the United States – which are not party to the Convention, may hold tens of millions of stockpiled antipersonnel mines.
  • A handful of States not party to the Convention have made new use of anti-personnel mines.
  • Some States not party do not yet have an official moratorium on the use of anti-personnel mines.
  • Some armed non-state actors continue to use, stockpile, and produce anti-personnel mines, and are largely responsible for a growing number of casualties.


States have not yet formally agreed to be bound by the Convention

Find here the list of States not party

  • Over 80% of the world's States have undertaken to never under any circumstances:
    • use anti-personnel mines;
    • develop, produce, otherwise acquire, stockpile, retain or transfer to anyone, directly or indirectly, anti-personnel mines;
    • assist, encourage or induce, in any way, anyone to engage in any activity prohibited to a State Party under this Convention.”