The Hon. Maithripala Sirisena, President of the Republic of Sri Lanka receives a commemorative brochure of the 20 year anniversary of the adoption and signing of the Convention, from HRH Prince Mired of Jordan.

HRH Prince Mired of Jordan is engaging with high level Sri Lankan officials including the President, Prime Minister, and the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and of Prison Reforms, Rehabilitation, Resettlement and Hindu Religious Affairs, regarding Sri Lanka’s potential leadership role in universalising the Convention in South Asia, and the need for sustained commitment to meet Sri Lanka's upcoming Convention obligations.

The engagement with Sri Lanka's leadership began prior to Sri Lanka’s acceding to the Convention, corresponds to the EU Council Decision in support of universalization of the Convention, and comes at the request of the President of Sri Lanka.

Read more here.